Home / Reviews / Album Reviews / EP Review: Full Fat – In The Dark EP

EP Review: Full Fat – In The Dark EP

Full fat are an unsigned three piece alt-blues band hailing form Aberdeen in Scotland, UK.

The band release their latest EP ‘In The Dark’ this week and MNPR previews this new release.

The band seem to keep going from strength to strength and in recent years have supported big names such as “Gerry McAvoy’s Band of Friends” and ex Gallows guitarist’s band “Ghost Riders in the Sky”.

The band have a string of accolades to their name and to name but a few:

  • “Best of the Rest” – FUDGE Awards 2018
  • “Best of the Rest” – FUDGE Awards 2017
  • FINALIST: “One to Watch Music Music” – Pride of Aberdeen Awards
  • FINALIST: Krakatoa’s “Eruption” Battle of the Bands
  • FINALIST: “Best Album” – Fudge Awards 2017

Full Fat currently have one full length record ‘Most of What Follows is true’ and ‘In The Dark’ follows on for the 2015 live recording “An Evening of Full Fat – Album 2.5”.

What to expect from the EP?

The band continue with the same sound as their previous releases with a mixture of rock, country, jazz and rockabilly with this release leaning towards to more traditional blues than the previous releases. The band have a unique and old fashioned sound which is in contrast to the youthfulness of the trio and guitarist and singer Fraser McKain has a deep mature voice reminiscent of the the old 60s rock n rollers.

Each song stands up on its own merits but the pick of bunch is a the fifth and final track Temper Temper’ which is the most bluesy and rocky on the EP.

It’s great to hear these recordings and to be transported back to a bygone era. Blues is definitely making a resurgence and Full Fat are making their presence felt and their way to the forefront of this resurrection and are making blues cool again. 

‘In The Dark’ EP Track Listing

Full Fat - In The Dark EP








  1. Le Funk
  2. Come Break My Heart
  3. Doctor Longhair
  4. Brand New (Again)
  5. Temper Temper


Full fat consist of 

  • Fraser McKain – Guitar & Vocals
  • Fraser Urquhart – Bass
  • Simon Rattray  – drums

About Richard Bolwell

Richard Bolwell is a freelance concert and tour photographer and co-founder and Editor in Chief of MNPR Magazine. Richard can more often than not be found in the photo pit at gig and on the seldom occasion seen without a camera, he is simply enjoying the music and soaking up the atmosphere with his friends and colleagues.

Check Also

Gig Review: Screaming Jets -The Corner Hotel – Melbourne – Australia – December 2018

There is one thing about Aussie Rock. It sets memories. Those Aussie classics become songs …

MNPR Magazine Is Evolving...